In Michigan, OWI (operating while intoxicated) is the most often used term for criminal charges filed against a motorist that are alcohol related. State law provides penalties under conviction of drunk driving for a first offense that might include up to 93 days in prison, as well as $100 to $500 in fines and a possible license suspension of six months. Anyone who refuses to submit to chemical tests incurs an automatic license suspension for one year if it is a first offense.
Certainly, being accused of unlawful activity related to drugs in Michigan or elsewhere places one's future at risk. When facing drug charges, a person has the right to retain legal representation in court. However, even before court proceedings begin, it is advisable to discuss the details leading to your arrest with an experienced attorney who can make certain your rights are protected.